Are You a Reader?

I am the type of person who tends to avoid books.  It is only when the stack of books on my desk reaches a ridiculous height that I say to myself:  I have GOT to read those books!!!  Well, that is where I was in January.  I have been diligent in attacking the books, but they have all been what I call sad books.  I don’t mind a sad book, but occasionally, I really like to read something uplifting or encouraging.  Well, my stack of books included one on leadership (yawn!!!), the autobiography of LPD Officer Gene DeBerry (sad), and another book about dealing with suicide (also a sad book). Hoping for something positive, I picked up my next book which is “Facing Evil”.  It is the true story which began on October 24th, 2014.  A husband-and-wife team on meth came to Sacramento, California and killed 2 Deputies, injuring another and a civilian.  I have read all the introductions, forward, prologue, endorsements and information on the jackets.  Although I am sure this will be an interesting read, it will not be very uplifting, other than the good guys win (if you can call it that) in the end.  I did note that the last book on the pile is entitled “The Right Fight” by John Kennedy Vaughan.   I’m sure the name of the author doesn’t mean anything to you.  Until I tell you that he is the man who founded Shields of Strength.  That is the company which manufactures encouraging dog tags for military, law enforcement, firefighters and communications personnel. I am hoping that this book will be somewhat encouraging. 

The point of me telling you this is that the Bible is also filled with various writings from various authors.  Some are sad, some are encouraging.  There is even a book from an author who is called the “Weeping Prophet”.  His name is Jeremiah and he wrote two books of the Old Testament, one entitled with his name: Jeremiah, and the other one entitled “Lamentations”.  Lamentations is defined as the passionate expression of grief or sorrow. I won’t tell you why Jeremiah is weeping, you will have to read his books yourself (have a box of tissues nearby!).

Let this be our prayer today, from the Psalms of King David (#30), when they were dedicating the temple to God:

I will exalt you, Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me.
Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me.
You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit.

Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people; praise his holy name.
For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime;
weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning. AMEN!

Leave a comment